A Sailing Christmas

You hear one mainsheet ratchet go, then bang — 124 more Laser radial sailors were off and sprinting up the course. This is the way my coach would describe the racing off of Coral Reef Yacht Club in the Orange Bowl Regatta.

I have been sailing Laser dinghies for the last three years. I have been privileged as a sailor to be a part of the Santa Cruz community. As a Laser racer I have been striving to improve my skills and test my abilities.

Orange Bowll

US Laser Nationals in Santa Cruz this summer gave me an awesome opportunity to be able to compete in a high-level regatta. After Nationals I wanted to continue to push my training and go for an even bigger regatta. Being a junior in high school, it is hard to balance school and sailing at the same time. The Orange Bowl International Youth Regatta was the perfect next regatta for me to strive for. With 300 optimist dinghies, 180 Lasers, and 110 Club 420s attending this regatta, it seemed like the perfect next step. The Orange Bowl Regatta is held out of Coral Reef Yacht Club in Coconut Grove, just south of Miami; at this regatta more than 40 countries are represented. I left on Christmas Day in order to arrive in Miami with a day to practice with my team. I set up the brand new charter boat with all the rigging necessary and went out sailing. I was practicing with team-CISA (California International Scholarship Association). We had about 15 Laser sailors from different parts of California, and two excellent coaches Chris Barnard, and Allie Blecher.

Orange Bowl Sailing

The First Day (Aggressive Day):