Eleven boats are expected to compete in the sailing race, which will finish off the Municipal Wharf in Santa Cruz.

With the exception of a brief hiatus during World War II, the race has run annually since 1938. 

Roots of the competition date back to 1926, when the Casa del Ray perpetual trophy was created to honor the winner. 

Santa Cruz’s Yacht Club will have three boats in the six-vessel PHRO1 race. Edward Marez will skipper the Buona Sera, Shepard Kett will skipper Octavia, and Jack Gordon will skipper Roller Coaster.

All five boats in the PHR02 race hail from SCYC. The race features Simon Phillips (Astra), Scott Walecka (Animal), Howard Turner (Symmetry), Niels Kisling (Geronimo) and Dan Nitake (Absinthe).


See the original article