The Buona Sera, a Santa Cruz 70 out of the Santa Cruz Yacht Club and skippered by Edward Marez, won its division in the 74th annual Windjammer’s Race.

The race began Friday from the St. Francis Yacht Club in San Francisco. Eleven boats competed, with the finish line off the Municipal Wharf in Santa Cruz.

The Buona Sera won the PHRO1 division in 10 hours, 12 minutes and 32 seconds. The Octavia, skippered by Shepard Kett and also out of the SCYC, was second in 10:38:20. The Dave MacEwen-led Lucky Duck, out of the Monterey Peninsula Yacht Club, was third in 10:46:40.

The SCYC’s Symmetry, with Howard Turner at the helm, won the PHR02 division in 10:35:36. The SCYC’s Animal (Scott Walecka) and Astra (Simon Phillips) finished second and third in 11:16:33 and 11:21:42, respectively.

View the Original Article